Submissions list 2022: The complete list of eligible titles submitted for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award

The Arthur C. Clarke Award
5 min readJul 8, 2022

Every year, in addition to revealing our award shortlist, we also publish the complete list of eligible titles received in submission.

What follows is not a long-list, or some other form of curated list, it is simply the full list of titles considered by this year’s judging panel and from which they made their final selection of shortlisted titles.

As our data has accumulated year-on-year, this project has evolved into a deeper, more self-aware dive into the state of science fiction publishing in the UK, and stands as part of the award’s ongoing commitment to -self-accountability and supporting equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) across the publishing industry and science fiction community. You can read some of that analysis to date here, here and here.

This year the judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2022 were:

· Phoenix Alexander and Dr Nicole Devarenne for the Science Fiction Foundation

· Crispin Black and Stark Holborn for the British Science Fiction Association

· Nick Hubble for the SCI-FI-LONDON film festival

Dr Andrew M. Butler represented the Arthur C. Clarke Award directors in a non-voting role as the Chair of the Judges.

They received 101 titles submitted by 39 UK publishing imprints, and these are the books they read:

The Wipe — Nik Abnett (NewCon Press)

The Time-Thief — Patience Agbabi (Canongate)

The Hierarchies — Ros Anderson (dead ink)

Assassin’s Orbit — John Appel (Solaris)

Jack Four — Neal Asher (Tor UK)

The 22 Murders of Madison May — Max Barry (Hodder & Stoughton)

Galaxias — Stephen Baxter (Gollancz)

Tomorrow — Chris Beckett (Corvus)

Absynthe — Brendan P. Bellecourt ( Ad Astra)

The Actuality — Paul Braddon (Sandstone Press)

The Girl with the Green Eyes — J.M. Briscoe (Bad Ink Press)

Come Join Our Disease — Sam Byers — (Faber & Faber)

The Actual Star — Monica Byrne ((HarperVoyager)

Artifact Space — Miles Cameron (Gollancz)

The Love Makers — Aifric Campbell (Goldsmiths Press)

Inscape — Louise Carey (Gollancz)

Day Zero — C. Robert Cargill (Gollancz)

Sanctuary — Gavin Catt ((Olympia Publishers)

The Galaxy, and the Ground Within — Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton)

Bestiary — K-Ming Chang (Harvill Secker)

Last One at the Party — Bethany Clift (Hodder & Stoughton)

Cloud Cuckoo Land — Anthony Doerr (4th Estate)

Residumm — Dominic Dulley (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Every — Dave Eggers (Hamish Hamilton)

A Clockwork River — J.S. Emery (Ad Astra)

The Living Sea of Waking Dreams — Richard Flanagan (Chatto & Windus)

Eye of the Sh*t Storm — Jackson Ford (Orbit)

This Virtual Night — C.S. Friedman (Ad Astra)

The Workshop of Filthy Creation — Richard Gadz (Deixis Press)

Deep Wheel Orcadia — Harry Josephine Giles ( Picador)

Mrs Death Misses Death — Salena Godden (Canongate)

Twenty Five to Life — R.W.W. Greene (Angry Robot)

Burntcoat — Sarah Hall (Faber &Faber)

Maxwell’s Demon — Steven Hall (Canongate)

Composite Creatures — Caroline Hardaker (Angry Robot)

Dark Lullaby — Polly Ho-Yen (Titan)

The White Devil — Paul Hoffman (Michael Joseph)

The Fallen — Ada Hoffmann (Angry Robot)

The Zoo of Intelligent Animals — D.A. Holdsworth (Squirrel & Acorn Press)

The Black Locomotive — Rian Hughes (Picador)

Gardens of Earth — Mark Iles (Elsewhen Press)

Klara and the Sun — Kazuo Ishiguro (Faber & Faber)

Several People are Typing — Calvin Kasulke — (Hodder Studio)

The Night Has Seen Your Mind — Simon Kearns (Elsewhen Press)

I’m Waiting For You — Bo-Young Kim (HarperVoyager)

The Cabinet — Un-su Kim (Angry Robot)

Alexandria — Paul Kingsnorth (Faber & Faber)

Something New Under the Sun — Alexandra Kleeman (4th Estate)

The Absolute Book — Elizabeth Knox (Michael Joseph)

The Quantum War — Derek Künsken (Solaris)

Shadow Town — Richard Lambert (Everything with Words)

Birds of Paradise — Oliver K. Langmead (Titan)

A Strange and Brilliant Light — Eli Lee (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Origins of Iris — Beth Lewis (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Veiled Throne — Ken Liu (Ad Astra)

Beyond the Hallowed Sky — Ken MacLeod (Orbit)

The Second Shooter — Nick Mamatas (Solaris)

A Desolation Called Peace — Arkady Martine (Tor UK)

Winter’s Orbit — Everina Maxwell (Orbit)

A Search for Starlight — James Maxwell (47 North)

The Stranger Times — C.K. McDonnell (Bantam)

Rabbits — Terry Miles (Macmillan)

Radio Life — Derek B. Miller (Jo Fletcher Books)

A Broken Darkness — Premee Mohamed (Solaris)

Kings of a Dead World — Jamie Mollart (Sandstone Press)

Only This Once Are You Immaculate — Blessing Musariri (Flipped Eye Publishing)

A History of What Comes Next — Sylvain Neuvel (Michael Joseph)

A River Called Time — Courttia Newland (Canongate)

Notes from the Burning Age — Claire North (Orbit)

Perhaps the Stars — Ada Palmer ((Ad Astra)

We Are Satellites — Sarah Pinsker — (Ad Astra)

Inhibitor Phase — Alastair Reynolds — (Gollancz)

The Extinction Trials — A.G. Riddle (Ad Astra)

Wergen: The Alien Love War — Mercurio D. Rivera (NewCon Press)

Purgatory Mount — Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

Requiem Moon — C.T. Rwizi (47 North)

Cytonic — Brandon Sanderson (Gollancz)

From Another World — Evelina Santangelo ( Granta)

Babouc’s Vision — Glenn Searfoss (Acorn Books)

Howul: A Life’s Journey — David Shannon (Elsewhen Press)

When the Sparrow Falls — Neil Sharpson (Solaris)

Meet Me in Another Life — Catriona Silvey (HarperVoyager)

Anna — Sammy H.K. Smith (Solaris)

Light Perpetual — Francis Spufford (Faber & Faber)

Termination Shock — Neal Stephenson (Borough)

Invisible Sun — Charles Stross (Tor UK)

The End of Men — Christina Sweeney-Baird (Borough)

Blindspace — Jeremy Szal (Gollancz)

The Offset — Calder Szewczak (Angry Robot)

Bear Head — Adrian Tchaikovsky (Ad Astra)

Shards of Earth — Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK)

Far from the Light of Heaven — Tade Thompson (Orbit)

The Escapement — Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

The Hood — Lavie Tidhar (Ad Astra)

Hummingbird Salamander — Jeff VanderMeer (4th Estate)

My Brother the Messiah — Martin Vopenka (Barbican Press)

Blood of the Chosen — Django Wexler (Ad Astra)

Skyward Inn — Aliya Whiteley (Solaris)

This Fragile Earth — Susannah Wise (Gollancz)

Lincolnstein — Paul Witcover (PS Publishing)

The Swimmers — Marian Womack (Titan)


Ten Low (Titan) was not in contention as author Stark Holborn represented the British Science Fiction Association as a judge this year.

For the latest Clarke Award news subscribe to our newsletter here



The Arthur C. Clarke Award

Stories, interviews and news from the Arthur C. Clarke Award science fiction book of the year.