5 judges, 988,172,368 possible shortlist combinations

The complete list of eligible titles submitted for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award

The Arthur C. Clarke Award
4 min readJun 4, 2023


Welcome to the complete reading list of science fiction titles submitted to this year’s Clarke Award judges.

As is now traditional, we’re publishing below the full list of eligible titles received by the Clarke Award from which our official shortlist selection is decided.

This is released as an open-source resource to showcase the breadth and diversity of UK science fiction literature as part of its ongoing commitment to self-accountability and supporting equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) across the publishing industry and science fiction community.

This year’s judging panel received 97 eligible titles submitted by 40 UK publishing imprints and independent authors.

The judging panel for the Arthur C. Clarke Award 2023 are:


Note: this is not a long-list, or some other form of curated or judged list. It is simply the full list of eligible titles in alphabetical order received by this year’s judging panel from which they make their final shortlist selection of six books.

The Hunt — For Allies — David Adams (David Geoffrey Adams)

Full Immersion — Gemma Amor (Angry Robot)

The Leviathan — Rosie Andrews (Raven Books)

Mickey⁷ — Edward Ashton (Solaris)

The Mars Migration — Wayne M. Bailey (Compass Books)

The Thousand Earths — Stephen Baxter (Gollancz)

Venomous Lumpsucker — Ned Beauman (Sceptre)

The Chosen Twelve — James Breakwell (Solaris)

Wormhole — Keith Brooke and Eric Brown (Angry Robot)

Glory — NoViolet Bulawayo (Chatto & Windus)

Momenticon — Andrew Caldecott (Jo Fletcher Books)

Outcast — Louise Carey (Gollancz)

The Key to Fury — Kristin Cast (Head of Zeus/Ad Astra)

Love & Other Human Errors — Bethany Clift (Hodder & Stoughton)

Where It Rains In Color — Denise Crittendon (Angry Robot)

Upgrade — Blake Crouch (Macmillan)

The Violence — Delilah S. Dawson (Titan Books)

The Red Scholar’s Wake — Aliette de Bodard (Gollancz)

Scary Monsters — Michelle De Kretser (Allen & Unwin)

HellSans — Ever Dundas (Angry Robot)

Mindwalker — Kate Dylan (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Candy House — Jennifer Egan (Corsair)

Leech — Hiron Ennes (Tor UK)

Our Share of Night — Mariana Enriquez (Granta)

A Sh*tload of Crazy Powers — Jackson Ford (Orbit)

Titan Blue — M. B. Fox (M. B. Fox)

The Women Could Fly — Megan Giddings (Tor UK)

Last Exit — Max Gladstone (Titan Books)

Mercury Rising — R. W. W. Greene (Angry Robot)

Azura Ghost -Essa Hansen (Orbit)

Tell Me an Ending — Jo Harkin (Hutchinson Heinemann)

The Splendid City — Karen Heuler (Angry Robot)

The Immortality Thief — Taran Hunt (Solaris)

The Moonday Letters — Emmi Itaranta (Titan Books)

Harpan’s Worlds: Worlds Apart — Terry Jackman (Elsewhen Press)

The World We Make — N. K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Hangdog Souls — Marc Joan (Deixis Press)

Plutoshine — Lucy Kissick (Gollancz)

The Visitors — Owen W. Knight (Burton Mayers Books)

The Spare Man — Mary Robinette Kowal (Solaris)

Glitterati — Oliver K. Langmead (Titan Books)

The Anomaly — Hervé Le Tellier (Michael Joseph)

The Last Storm — Tim Lebbon (Titan Books)

Speaking Bones — Ken Liu (Head of Zeus/Ad Astra)

Sea of Tranquility — Emily St John Mandel (Picador)

Beyond the Burn Line — Paul McAuley (Gollancz)

Prophets of the Red Night — Sophie McKeand (Sophie McKeand)

The Flight of the Aphrodite — S. J. Morden (Gollancz)

The Daughter of Doctor Moreau — Silvia Moreno-Garcia (Jo Fletcher Books)

Appliance — J. O. Morgan (Jonathan Cape)

LambdaDavid Musgrave (Europa Editions)

How High We Go in the Dark — Sequoia Nagamatsu (Bloomsbury)

36 Streets — T. R. Napper (Titan Books)

Until the Last of Me — Sylvain Neuvel (Michael Joseph)

The Men — Sandra Newman (Granta)

Vagabonds! — Eloghosa Osunde (4th Estate)

Ion Curtain — Anya Ow (Solaris)

Braking Day — Adam Oyebanji (Jo Fletcher Books)

Stringers — Chris Panatier (Angry Robot)

Pod — Laline Paull (Corsair)

Bluebird — Ciel Pierlot (Angry Robot)

Stars and Bones — Gareth L. Powell (Titan Books)

Expect Me Tomorrow Christopher Priest (Gollancz)

Ricky’s Hand — David Quantick (Titan Books)

Eversion — Alastair Reynolds (Gollancz)

Lost in Time — A. G. Riddle (Head of Zeus/Ad Astra)

The Quickening — Talulah Riley (Hodder & Stoughton)

Fevered Star — Rebecca Roanhorse (Solaris)

The This — Adam Roberts (Gollancz)

The Stars Undying — Emery Robin (Orbit)

Poster Girl — Veronica Roth (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Transfer Problem — Adam Saint (Deixis Press)

The Kaiju Preservation Society — John Scalzi (Tor UK)

The Furrows — Namwali Serpell (Hogarth)

The Cartographers — Peng Shepherd (Orion)

Off Target — Eve Smith (Orenda Books)

The Ends — James Smythe (HarperVoyager)

The Fish — Joanne Stubbs (Fairlight Books)

The Coral Bones — E. J. Swift (Unsung Stories)

A Fractured Infinity — Nathan Tavares (Titan Books)

Scattered All Over the Earth — Yōko Tawada (Granta)

Children of Memory — Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK)

City of Last Chances — Adrian Tchaikovsky (Head of Zeus/Ad Astra)

Eyes of the Void — Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK)

Stray Pilot — Douglas Thompson (Elsewhen Press)

Neom — Lavie Tidhar (PS Publishing)

Equinox — David Towsey (Head of Zeus/Ad Astra)

New Brighton — Helen Trevorrow (Red Dog Press)

Deep Dive — Ron Walters (Angry Robot)

Metronome — Tom Watson (Bloomsbury)

August Kitko and the Mechas from Space — Alex White (Orbit)

Oval — Elvia Wilk (Peninsula Press)

The Shadow Glass — Josh Winning (Titan Books)

The Circus Infinite — Khan Wong (Angry Robot)

To Paradise — Hanya Yanagihari (Picador)

Thrust — Lidia Yuknavitch (Canongate)

Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and TomorrowGabrielle Zevin (Chatto & Windus)

For the latest Clarke Award news subscribe to our newsletter here



The Arthur C. Clarke Award

Stories, interviews and news from the Arthur C. Clarke Award science fiction book of the year. clarkeaward.com